User Tools

Site Tools



The cerebellum consists of three parts, a median and two lateral, which are continuous with each other, and are substantially the same in structure. The median portion is constricted, and is called the vermis, from its annulated appearance which it owes to the transverse ridges and furrows upon it; the lateral expanded portions are named the hemispheres.

see cerebellar hemisphere

The cerebellum (Latin for “little brain”) is a region of the brain that plays an important role in motor control.

It may also be involved in some cognitive functions such as attention and language, and in regulating fear and pleasure responses, but its movement-related functions are the most solidly established. The cerebellum does not initiate movement, but it contributes to coordination, precision, and accurate timing. It receives input from sensory systems of the spinal cord and from other parts of the brain, and integrates these inputs to fine tune motor activity.

Cerebellar damage does not cause paralysis, but instead produces disorders in fine movement, equilibrium, posture, and motor learning.

Anterior view 1. Superior medullary velum

2. Superior cerebellar peduncle

3. Wing of central lobule

4. Middle cerebellar peduncle

4' Inferior cerebellar peduncle

5. Flocculus

6. Horizontal fissure

7. Central lobule

8. Nodule

9. Uvula

10. Retrotonsillar fissure

11. Tonsilla cerebelli

12. Foramen caecum

13. Pyramid

14. Inferior olive

15. Horizontal fissure

16. Vestibulocochlear nerve / facial nerve

17. Trigeminal nerve

18. Crus cerebri

19. Interpeduncular fossa

20. Pons

21. Biventer lobule

22. Inferior semilunar lobule

23. Superior semilunar lobule

24. Simple lobule

cerebellum.txt · Last modified: 2016/05/19 09:41 (external edit)