User Tools

Site Tools



The intracranial ventricles are anatomical interconnected cavities where the cerebrospinal fluid flows through.

The ventricular system is composed by the four well known cavities:

The two lateral ventricles

The third ventricle

The fourth ventricle.

Each lateral ventricle communicates with the third ventricle through the foramen of Monro and the third ventricle communicates with the fourth through the aqueduct of Sylvius.

Cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) pathway studies have revealed that the CSF secreted from the choroid plexus of the ventricles after egressing from the fourth ventricle reaches the basal suprasellar cistern and ultimately the sylvian cisterns.

ventricle.txt · Last modified: 2017/07/15 20:13 by administrador