User Tools

Site Tools


World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies

Mission Statement

The World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies aspires to promote global improvement in neurosurgical care.

The mission of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS) is to work together with our member societies to improve worldwide neurosurgical care, training and research to benefit our patients.

Founded in 1955, the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS) is a professional, scientific, non-governmental organization comprising 5 Continental Associations, 114 National Neurosurgical Societies and 5 Affiliate Societies, representing some 30,000 neurosurgeons worldwide.

The WFNS is governed by an Executive Committee (EC) consisting of two Delegates from each Member Society and an Administrative Council composed of the Officers of the Federation, who are elected every four years. The EC meets every two years and is guided by the Administrative Council which meets at least annually.

The goals of the WFNS are deliberated and pursued through scientific, standing and ad hoc committees and during the International Congress of Neurological Surgery which takes place every four years.


At present, the main priorities of the Federation concern:

The training of neurosurgeons from developing areas, both with the organization of Educational Courses in different countries and with the provision of grants to enable them to train at selected neurosurgical centers in different parts of the world.

The donation of instruments and equipment, together with the necessary technical advice to allow them to be implemented in the neurosurgical units in economically challenged regions.

Priority to public health issues, such as the prevention and treatment of head injuries and spinal trauma, vascular pathology with special attention to the elderly, treatment of degenerative diseases, prevention of developmental and neonatal malformations.

Research in neurosurgical subspecialties, such as brain tumours, vascular pathologies and degenerative diseases.

The assessment and introduction of new technologies.

A forum for young neurosurgeons.

Maintenance of a Website which addresses neurosurgical interests of physicians, corporations and the general public.

The WFNS Foundation, created in 2000 and incorporated in the U.S.A. (as the WFNS Foundation – USA) serves to promote education and training of neurosurgeons in the developing world.

The WFNS has official relations with the World Health Organization (WHO) and acts as a consulting body through the WHO Working Group on Neurosurgery and the WFNS-WHO Liaison Committee.

WFNS Executive Committee

Chairman of the Executive Committee:

Peter BLACK, President of WFNS Harvard Medical School - USA

Tel: +1 617-259-6120 /Fax: +1 617-523-4008

Mobile: +1 617-966-4362

Email: cc to


Appointed by the President of the Federation and can only vote if already a member of the Executive Committee or an Honorary President of the Federation

David THOMAS, Honorary President of WFNS

The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Box 32, Queen Square, London, WC1N 3BG, England

Tel: +44 (-20) -78298750, Fax: +44 2072787894


WFNS Administrative Council: Peter M. Black (President), Yong-Kwang Tu (President-Elect), Takeshi Kawase (First Vice-President), Hildo Azevedo-Filho (Secretary), Basant K. Misra (Assistant-Secretary), Miguel A. Arraez (Treasurer), Christopher M. Loftus (Assistant-Treasurer), Hee-Won Jung (President of the XV Congress)

WFNS Second Vice-Presidents: Alexander Potapov (at large), Ibrahim Sbeih (at large), Johannes Schramm (EANS), Leonidas M. Quintana (FLANC), Yong-Kwang Tu (AASNS), Gail Rosseau (AANS), Kazadi K.N.Kalangu (PAANS),

Historian: Armando Basso

WFNS Honorary Presidents: Adelola Adeloye, Armando Basso, J. Brotchi, Maurice Choux, Noel G. Dan, Jacques C. de Villiers, Atos A. de Souza, Sayed El Gindi, Alan Hudson, Roberto Heros, Shozo Ishii, Tetsuo Kanno, A. El Khamlichi, Shigeaki Kobayashi, Edward R. Laws, Alexander Konovalov, Guy Lazorthes, Friedrich Loew, Mauro Loyo-Varela, José-Gérardo Martin-Rodriguez, Jorge Mendez, Sean Mullan, Russel Patterson, Fernando Rueda-Franco, Mahadeeva Sambivasan, Madjid Samii, Lindsay Symon, Kintomo Takakura, H.A.D. Walder.

Editor of Federation and Congress Publications: Yücel Kanpolat (no vote)

*Officers of the WFNS Congress: Hee Won Jung, (President), Dae Hee Han (Honorary Vice-President), Suck Jun Oh (Vice-President), Man Bin Yim (2nd Vice-President), Kyu Sung Lee (Secretary), Jung Yul Park (Assistant-Secretary), In Suk Hamm (Treasurer), Yong Gu Chung (Assistant-Treasurer), Chun-Kun Park (Scientific Programme Director, i.e. Chairman of the Programme Committee), plus Honorary Vice-Presidents of the Congress Two delegates from each Constituent Society and each Continental Organization: (Paying Continental Organizations have the right to 4 delegates/4 votes) Observers from each affiliate society: (no vote) *N.B. they are ex-officio unless a nominated delegate. An amendment of the Bylaws passed in Marrakech states that only the President and Treasurer of the Congress can vote but not the Officers of the Congress. One from each member society of WFNS who is usually the delegate with the longest term of service on the Executive Committee, the name of whom should be declared in writing to the Secretary of the Federation by each Society. An Honorary Vice-President can only vote if he is also a Senior or Second Delegate of a member society.


I 1957 Brussels, Belgium P. Van Gehuchten II 1961 Washington DC, United States P. C. Bucy III 1965 Copenhagen, Denmark E. Busch IV 1969 New York, United States H. H. Merritt & A. E. Walker V 1973 Tokyo, Japan Keiji Sano VI 1977 Sao Paulo, Brazil Aloysio De Mattos Pimenta VII 1981 Munich, Germany Karl-August Bushe VIII 1985 Toronto, Canada Alan R. Hudson IX 1989 New Delhi, India Brigadier Ramamurthi X 1993 Acapulco, Mexico Mauro Loyo-Varela XI 1997 Amsterdam, Netherlands H. August Van Alphen XII 2001 Sydney, Australia Noel Dan XIII 2005 Marrakech, Morocco Abdeslam El Khamlichi XIV 2009 Boston, United States Roberto Heros XV 2013 Seoul, South Korea Hee Won Jung

world_federation_of_neurosurgical_societies.txt · Last modified: 2017/08/20 09:13 by administrador