User Tools

Site Tools



see 1930 - 1932

Founded in 1931 as the Harvey Cushing Society, the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) is a scientific and educational association.

Axel Herbert Olivecrona (1891-1980) singlehandedly founded Swedish neurosurgery. At the International Congress in Neurology in Bern in August, 1931, Harvey Cushing invited the cream of the world's medical society to a private banquet. Among the 28 specially invited guests was Herbert Olivecrona. At 40 years old, Olivecrona took his seat with pioneers such as Otfrid Foerster, Percival Bailey, Hugh Cairns, Geoffrey Jefferson, and Sir Charles Scott Sherrington. This suggests that Cushing was impressed by the Swedish aristocrat's didactic deeds when he visited the Serafimer Hospital in Stockholm 2 years earlier.

The first surgical treatment of an intracranial aneurysm with wrapping was made by Norman Dott in 1931 1)


No indexed publications

Zhou J, Agarwal N, Hamilton DK, Koltz MT. The 100 most influential publications pertaining to intracranial aneurysms and aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage. J Clin Neurosci. 2017 Aug;42:28-42. doi: 10.1016/j.jocn.2017.02.057. Epub 2017 Mar 25. Review. PubMed PMID: 28351533.
1931.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/19 11:38 by administrador