User Tools

Site Tools


Anterior cerebral artery aneurysm

Anterior cerebral artery (ACA) aneurysms are divided into five groups which include:

1.- Proximal anterior cerebral artery aneurysm or A1 aneurysms.

2.- Anterior communicating artery aneurysms

3.- Proximal pericallosal artery aneurysm or A2 aneurysms

4.- Classical pericallosal artery aneurysm or A3 aneurysms curving around the genu

5.- A4 aneurysm

6.- A5 aneurysms which include distal branch aneurysms.

Weisberg reviewed the CT findings in 40 patients with ruptured aneurysms of the anterior cerebral or anterior communicating artery. Within 3 days of the ictus, the common patterns included blood in the pericallosal cistern and interhemispheric fissure, blood in the caval-septal region, unilateral or bilateral frontal hematoma, and diffuse symmetric intraventricular and basal cisternal blood 1).

Preoperative evaluation of cerebral vasculature with a cerebral angiogram or high-resolution digital subtraction angiography is essential as multiple aneurysms are commonly associated with anterior cerebral artery aneurysms

Weisberg LA. Ruptured aneurysms of anterior cerebral or anterior communicating arteries: CT patterns. Neurology. 1985 Nov;35(11):1562-6. PubMed PMID: 4058745.
anterior_cerebral_artery_aneurysm.txt · Last modified: 2019/11/23 10:59 by administrador