User Tools

Site Tools


The four AO Technical Commissions (AOTK) for Trauma, Spine, CMF and AONeuro are the governing bodies of their clinical area within the AOTK System.

The AOTKs propose to the AOTK Executive Board (TKEB) to appoint and dissolve Expert Groups, which provide expert opinion in the respective areas of specialty. The AOTKs support, guide, and supervise the work of their Expert Groups.

Further tasks

  To define the need for new or improved technologies and procedures
  To convey the defined needs for research, development and clinical investigation
  To review the priorities and propositions of their Expert Groups according to the general aims of the AO Foundation
  To approve new devices and methodso approve new devices and methods
  To approve preclinical and clinical studies proposed by the Expert Groupso approve preclinical and clinical studies proposed by the Expert Groups
  To appoint Task Forceso appoint Task Forces

The AOTKs are the only bodies empowered to approve a device (product) or method (technology) indicated for their specialty as a product, which may be advertised as a product approved by the AO Foundation. The approval procedure is defined by the AOTK Executive Board.

ao_technical_commission​.txt · Last modified: 2016/12/12 12:28 (external edit)