User Tools

Site Tools



State of unconsciousness lasting more than six hours in which a person: cannot be awakened; fails to respond normally to painful stimuli, light, or sound; lacks a normal sleep-wake cycle; and, does not initiate voluntary actions.

A person in a state of coma is described as being comatose.

Medically induced coma see General anesthesia.

Structural causes of coma

Midline shift of the brain due hematoma (subdural hematoma, epidural hematoma).

Differential diagnosis

coma.txt · Last modified: 2017/02/02 15:41 (external edit)