User Tools

Site Tools


Epileptogenic zone

In the 19th century, the so-called “discharging lesion”, defined by the location of the macroscopic cortical lesion and/or clinical ictal semiology, was equivalent to the epileptogenic zone of modern epileptology.

Area of cortex that is necessary and sufficient for initiating seizures and whose removal (or disconnection) is necessary for complete abolition of seizures.

epileptogenic_zone.txt · Last modified: 2016/07/30 19:12 (external edit)