Extended Glasgow Outcome Scale

The Extended Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS-E) was developed to address the limitations of the original Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS), including the use of broad categories that are insensitive to change and difficulties with reliability due to lack of a structured interview format.

The GOS-E extends the original 5 GOS categories to 8.

The 8 categories are:

Dead, Vegetative State, Lower Severe Disability, Upper Severe Disability, Lower Moderate Disability, Upper Moderate Disability, Lower Good Recovery, and Upper Good Recovery.

Compared to the GOS, the GOS-E has been shown to be more sensitive to change in mild traumatic brain injury and moderate traumatic brain injury. 1).

Extended Glasgow Outcome Scale

Sander, A. (2002). The Extended Glasgow Outcome Scale. The Center for Outcome Measurement in Brain Injury. http://www.tbims.org/combi/gose ( accessed June 3, 2014
  • extended_glasgow_outcome_scale.txt
  • Last modified: 2018/12/01 19:08
  • by