Glasgow Outcome Scale

see also Extended Glasgow Outcome Scale

The 'Glasgow Outcome Scale' (GOS) is a scale so that patients with brain injuries, such as cerebral traumas can be divided into groups that allow standardised descriptions of the objective degree of recovery.

The first description was in 1975 by Jennett and Bond.

Applies to patients with brain damage allowing the objective assessment of their recovery in five categories. This allows a prediction of the long-term course of rehabilitation to return to work and everyday life.

1. Death

Severe injury or death without recovery of consciousness

2. Persistent vegetative state

Severe damage with prolonged state of unresponsiveness and a lack of higher mental functions

3. Severe disability

Severe injury with permanent need for help with daily living

4. Moderate disability

No need for assistance in everyday life, employment is possible but may require special equipment.

5. Low disability

Light damage with minor neurological and psychological deficits. 1).

Jennett, B; Bond, M (1975 Mar 1). “Assessment of outcome after severe brain damage.”. Lancet 1 (7905): 480–484. PMID 46957.
  • glasgow_outcome_scale.txt
  • Last modified: 2018/12/01 19:09
  • by