Petrous bone meningioma classification

Bricolo et al. 1) divided posterior petrous meningiomas into tumors anterior to the IAC and tumors posterior to the IAC. D

Desgeorges et al. refined this description when they introduced the A-M-P classification:

Petrous bone meningiomas were classified into 3 types following the Desgeorges classification, 2) which is based on the tumor's dural attachment to the posterior petrous bone surface:

Type A (anterior) meningiomas originate from the petrous apex. see petrous apex meningioma.

Type M (middle) meningiomas originate at the level of the internal auditory canal (IAC)

Type P (posterior) meningiomas develop from the posterior part of the petrous bone, between the posterior wall of the IAC and the groove of the sigmoid sinus.

see Posterior petrous bone meningioma.

Bricolo AP, , Turazzi S, , Talacchi A, & Cristofori L: Microsurgical removal of petroclival meningiomas: a report of 33 patients. Neurosurgery 31:813–828, 1992
Desgeorges M, Sterkers O, Poncet JL, Rey A, Sterkers JM. [Surgery for meningioma of the posterior skull base. 135 cases. Choice of approach and results]. Neurochirurgie. 1995;41(4):265-90; discussion 290-4. French. PubMed PMID: 8524441.
  • petrous_bone_meningioma_classification.txt
  • Last modified: 2021/03/05 11:54
  • by administrador