Sphenoid wing meningioma classification

In 1938, Cushing et al. first divided the sphenoid wing meningiomas in detail as “globoid” and “en plaque” tumors. Globoid tumors were further categorized into 3 groups based on their location of origin along the sphenoid wing: (1) deep inner or medial, (2) middle, and (3) lateral.

In 1938, Harvey Cushing and Louise Eisenhardt reported the first surgical experience with sphenoid ridge meningiomas. On the basis of clinical observations and anatomic characteristics obtained during surgery or autopsy in 53 patients, they divided sphenoid ridge meningiomas into four categories:

1) Tumors of the deep or clinoidal third

2) Middle-ridge tumors,

3) En plaque pterional tumors

4) Global pterional tumors 1)

Categorizing globoid tumors into 3 groups:

1) Medial sphenoid wing meningioma or clinoidal meningioma.

2) middle

3) Lateral sphenoid wing meningioma or pterional meningioma

Tumors found in the external third of the sphenoid are of two types: en-plaque and globoid meningiomas.

Patients with globoid meningiomas often present only with signs of increased intracranial pressure. This leads to various other symptoms including headache and a swollen optic disc.

see Meningioma en plaque of the sphenoid ridge.

see Sphenoorbital meningioma

On the basis of a 20-year experience with 60 surgically treated patients with sphenoid wing meningiomas, we have modified Cushing’s classification system by dividing these tumors into three groups: Group I, global medial ridge (35 patients); Group II, global lateral ridge (13 patients); and Group

Cushing H, Eisenhardt L: Meningiomas: Their Classification, Regional Behavior, Life History, and Surgical End Results. Springfield, Charles C. Thomas, 1938.
  • sphenoid_wing_meningioma_classification.txt
  • Last modified: 2021/03/22 09:56
  • by administrador