User Tools

Site Tools


Spinal vascular malformation classification

There are three current era classification systems.

The “American/English/French Connection” classification

The American English French Connection Classification.

Hôpital Bicêtre classification

Hôpital Bicêtre classification

Spetzler et al. classification

Spetzler et al. classification.

Different types of spinal arteriovenous malformation (AVM) have differing age of presentation, but overall 80% present between the age 20 and 60 years.

Embolization of a spinal cord arteriovenous malformation (AVM) is considered a high-risk procedure due to the potential risk of spinal cord injury.

see Spinal intramedullary arteriovenous malformation.

see also Spinal dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Cervical dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Thoracic dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Thoracolumbar dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Lumbar dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Lumbosacral dural arteriovenous fistula.

see Sacral dural arteriovenous fistula.

Spinal cord hemangioblastoma.

Spinal cord cavernous malformation.

Spinal aneurysm.

Spinal arteriovenous fistula: extradural or intradural.

For a review of the history of classification systems, see the excellent review by Black 1).

see Pediatric Spinal Vascular Malformation.

Spinal vascular pathological conditions can be classified into different subtypes especially by the use of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and selective digital subtraction angiography (DSA).

Black P. Spinal vascular malformations: an historical perspective. Neurosurg Focus. 2006; 21
spinal_vascular_malformation_classification.txt · Last modified: 2020/02/01 07:30 by administrador